EU DPA declares Google Analytics illegal because it runs on US cloud providers. Fathom is a Canadian company, and all of your EU traffic never leaves German-owned servers.
Sign inFree trial
Support home / Troubleshooting

Why is my account locked?

If an invoice from Fathom hasn’t been paid seven days after it’s due, or if you’ve consistently gone over your plan limits without upgrading, we lock your account until it’s paid. We don’t stop collecting data after seven days; we just lock you out of your account until payment is received.

Read our billing FAQs to learn more about billing works with Fathom.

If previous invoices haven't been paid

If your credit card has expired or doesn't have enough balance to pay, we cannot collect the money owed for using Fathom. When this happens, your account gets locked, and you'll have to enter a new credit card to pay all outstanding balances. Or, if you've called your bank to allow for payments to Fathom (or you've cleared up your limits), use the same credit card.

When you complete the billing page to unlock your account, all failed invoices from the past will be paid simultaneously, and your account will unlock. That means if you haven’t paid us for seven months and you add an active credit card, all seven payments will be withdrawn from your card balance (as that’s what’s owed to us).

If you are consistently over your plan limit

If you’ve been consistently over your allotted page views for several months in a row or have exceeded your plan in your first month using Fathom, we’ll remind you a few times via email to log in and upgrade your account. If you fail to do so after seven days, you’ll be locked out of your account until you upgrade. Data will still be collected on your sites for 30 days, but you won’t be able to see your dashboard until you confirm your plan upgrade (and billing amount change).

Once your plan upgrade is complete, you can see your dashboard as usual. And, of course, if you feel you are on the wrong plan, simply email us and explain why.

If you don’t want to upgrade to the more accurate plan (based on your page views over several months), you can cancel your account.

If you still have questions or require help with anything, please reach out to us and we'll happily get things sorted out for you.